Money Mentor

Money Mentors



What's your background? 

I grew up in Manhattan, New York and I am studying Physics alongside a 3/2 Engineering program at SUNY Geneseo.


Can you describe the highs and lows of your college experience? 

The college experience is like most students would say it was like for them, difficult to manage but still fun nonetheless. The lows I have experienced were being unprepared for the college lifestyle and being in an environment that was totally new to me. Transitions are always hard but it pushed me to the highs of my college experience. I have met people from all walks of life, participated in a variety of events and learned how to better manage my time. Learning how to study and manage my time were both extremely beneficial to me.


What was most stressful to you about paying for college if you could pick out one thing? Why? 

The most stressful part about paying for college is not knowing exactly how much I would need to pay at the end of my four years. Every year tuition for many, if not most, colleges fluctuate and in the end you might have to pay for than you had originally thought.  


Who helped you navigate paying for college? 

I had a few people who helped me with the FAFSA and other forms of college financing but usually they were occupied. As for my Money Mentor, she guided me with step-by-step instructions as to how to go about college financing. My Money Mentor was knowledgeable in this subject because she her self is a college student so she had experienced what I had experienced then. 


What are you majoring in and why? What has been your favorite class? 

I am majoring in physics because I, like many other physicists, envision the world a little different from everyone else. I like to wonder how the universe interacts with everything in existence. So far, my analytical physics class is my favorite because I have a teacher who knows the subject very well and makes class entertaining. 


What do you hope to do with your career? What city or profession do you envision yourself in? 

I hope to discover something that may potentially benefit our understanding of the universe or build upon existing theories. I envision myself as an astrophysicist.


What do you do for fun? 

I love to play American handball, ping pong, and basketball in my free time and on the weekends I enjoy getting together with my friends.


What is your biggest piece of advice for college so far? 

I have two pieces of advice, the first being, do not wait till the last minute to complete an assignment, do parts of an assignment each day, trust me you'll see what I mean. Secondly, if you need help, just ask for it, teachers and even students are at a college to inform and share knowledge. 


Why do you like about being a NextGenVest Money Mentor? 

I liked being a NextGenVest Money Mentor because I was able to write about things which related to my experiences in high school and in college. By writing this to students I hope to educate future college students about the challenges and the opportunities in both high school and college. 


What's one thing that you learned while being a Money Mentor? 

I learned that in order to personally finance your life you need to develop a good budget early on. 

Grace Martinez